A Summer’s day at Knockbrex

A summer's day at Knockbrex

 

Two men approach to challenge me about walking on a farmer’s field. I turn and run but they find me hiding behind a cow.

I often wonder whether anyone actually reads this bit of text beneath the photo.

If you visit Scotland you will discover that we have the right to roam across most of the landscape, though, of course, you have to avoid damaging crops or scaring livestock.

The two approaching men are fellow camera club members walking down to an Iron Age Broch that stands on the coast here at Knockbrex. It was a lovely day for a stroll and for taking photos, an intensely agreeable summer’s day in fact.

 

Author: smithiesshutter

Artist and Photographer based in S W Scotland. Contact at smithiesshutter.gmail.com Prints may be obtained from any image shown here. Please respect my copyright.

19 thoughts on “A Summer’s day at Knockbrex”

    1. I regret that I often just scan….it’s the picture that should speak!
      Incidentally, if you are happy to consider showing your work at Ringford village Hall, we have possible dates of 4 Oct ’17, 10 Jan ’18 and 21 March ’18. These would be for about 45 mins. Longer sessions, 2×45 mins would of course be available from September 2018. Please let me know if any of these suit you.
      Regards John

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hi John. Thank you so much for letting me know. I’ll look at all dates and advise you asap (I work a shift pattern so I’m not always off same days each week). In the meantime, feel free to let me know a selection of which particular images would be of interest to your members and I can begin making some prints. Best.. Rob.

        Like

      2. Easiest to use Keynote or windows slideshow software and project onto a screen. I use my iPad for presentations and have the cables to connect to a projector.
        Your approach to local landscape would have real appeal, especially infrared and fauxcolour work. Perhaps one session showing the range of your work and at some time in the future a talk about how you achieve it? Hmm, that’s two talks….ah well!
        Regards
        John

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Happy to, John. As you’re local, perhaps a coffee and a chat sometime and we can discuss finer points?

        Like

      4. No probs. I’m sure the Mulberry will still be standing when you return 😂 Speak soon, John. Best.. R.

        Like

Leave a Reply

